Interactive Bar

Google Search
Google Translate
Log in
School Logo

St James

Primary School

Where children shoot for the stars and shine


The Early Years Curriculum

Children in the Foundation Stage follow the ‘Early Years Foundation Stage’ curriculum which covers all 7 areas of a child’s development.


There are 3 Prime Areas of Learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development


There are 4 Specific Areas of Learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Expressive Arts and Design
  • Understanding of the World


We observe our children to understand and consider their interests, development and learning- planning for and facilitating the 3 ‘Characteristics of Effective Learning’.

Playing and exploring - children investigate and experience things, and ‘have a go’;

Active Learning - children concentrate and keep on trying if they encounter difficulties, and enjoy achievements; and

Creating and thinking critically - children have and develop their own ideas, make links between ideas, and develop strategies for doing things.


For more information on the curriculum and what we offer see below:


Here are the overview for the Nursery and Reception Curriculums:

Please click on the Nursery overviews below to see what we cover within the curriculum:

Please click on the Reception overviews below to see what we cover within the curriculum:

If you want further information about the curriculum content your child is covering please call the school office to arrange an appointment to see the subject leader.